April 4, 2016 Edition

A Note from the Provost

The last few months have brought many accomplishments and milestones for our campus! Our research team celebrated the grand opening of their new facility, the brand new Student Health Clinic opened its doors, many of our faculty and even our students received honors in the community and so much more as you will read below.

Last month was our annual BIG GAME taking on the TUN campus. Although the final score was not in our favor, the TUC team played phenomenally and I could not be happier with the school spirit shown by our entire campus community-from the tailgate and fan mob to the after-party it was a wonderful night!

Dr. Marilyn Hopkins
Provost and Chief Operating Officer
Touro University California

Rumble in Lander Hall - 2016 BIG GAME

On Tuesday, March 8th our campus took on TUN in the annual Big Game! Perhaps more important than the game outcome is the school-spirit shown by all those that attended from TUC! The night started out with a tailgate in the Lander Hall Parking lot attended by students, staff, faculty and family members. After a few hours of good food, fun and games at the tailgate the crowd lined up for a fan mob parade into the gym before the opening ceremony. The game kicked off with a very special performance of the National Anthem by the soulful Lenny Williams from Tower of Power. The final score of the game was 58 (TUC) to 76 (TUN). Our athletes and fans left the court and went to Farragut Inn for the after-party and to plot taking the hammer back next year in Nevada.

OPSC Board Appointees

In addition to Dr. Clearfield’s prestigious award from the Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons of California, our campus celebrated the appointment of two other faculty members into prominent board positions. Dr. Pera, Associate Professor, was installed as the 56th President of the OPSC while Dr. Riemer, Senior Associate Dean, was installed as the organization’s Vice-President. In addition, two of our Touro students received impressive recognition - Zach Anderson, OMS1, was installed as a student Board member and Farris Serio, OMS2, received outstanding student leader award. Congratulations to all!